This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.


7.4 Review score
Score Breakdown
Property location
    28 February 2018
    Worth a short stay
    Cottage is located across the Anse Chastenet minor road and uphill of the main complex. Not a great beach.
    Breakfast overlooking the Pitons Seclusion and surroundings of the cottage
    3 February 2018
    Excellent hotel! Before you choose an air conditioned room, check out the upper balcony rooms!!
    I honestly couldn't find a single thing to complain about.
    This was the one and only place in the Soufreire area that we would ever stay in if we went there again. Big Tip: Do not opt for the air conditioned rooms on the ground floor. They are dark and a bit claustrophobic. We stayed there one night upon arrival and the next morning asked to see an alternate room upstairs. The staff was very accommodating, but advised me that the upstairs rooms were not air conditioned. I elected to see them anyway.. OMG!! The upstairs rooms are awesome! Forget air conditioning. They have high vaulted ceilings with ceiling fans over the beds plus a big oscillating floor fan and that's really all you need as it turned out. The view was beyond five star. I doubt that any of the big corporate hotels charging quadruple the price nearby even come close to having a view like these upper balcony rooms! Your own private covered balcony with table and chairs and hummingbirds busily flitting about the tops of the flowered bushes alongside your balcony railing twelve inches away.. a to die for view across the bay to the pitons beyond.. total privacy. There are three upstairs balcony rooms, we stayed in #2 which I felt was the best. Take my advice and even if you already have made your mind up that you absolutely must have an air conditioned room, ask to see these upper balcony rooms before you make your final decision. #1, #2 and #3 are all winners! Also the restaurant on the premises is definitely a cut above anything else nearby. Whoever was doing the cooking must have been trained in Paris?!? And all the staff were overly friendly and helpful. Nothing to complain about at all with the Hummingbird!
    17 January 2018
    Beautiful stay in this quiet garden hotel in Soufriere
    No wifi in the rooms so you had to go to the pool area or bar to use the internet.
    The view of the beach and the Petit Piton from the pool and from my balcony were absolutely beautiful. The gardens on the property and around the pool area were filled with hummingbirds and butterflies.
    3 November 2017
    We had a nice stay with beach on doorstep even though one had to be careful as beach is steep
    Breakfast was tasty and well presented but skimpy and overcharged for the local menu as regular menu was not taken.breakfast was not value for money. Bathtub and surrounding area needed cleaning as this is important to me.
    Great location for the hiking waterfall and pitons. Lovely beach
    12 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    25 August 2017
    The tv in my room didn't work, the shower head was fixed and there was no water pressure to shower properly. The kettle in my room had a broken lid so I had to hold it down for it to boil. One of the bedside lamps had no socket to plug it in. The breakfast menu was a little confusing as I thought there was more included that what I recieved.
    The hotel was clean, well located, with beautiful views. We had a nice room, the bed was extremely comfortable and the flowers were a beautiful touch. The cocktails we had were beautiful as were the shimp dishes that we had for dinner. The chef's wife was a pleasure to converse with, she was very personable and made us feel extremely welcome.
    27 July 2017
    The layout of furniture didn't like the look of bath
    That's it was very close to the beach
    12 June 2017
    Fantastic holiday at the Hummingbird
    Spectacular view. All the staff were fantastic. Great location for swimming in the sea. Kids loved the swimming pool. Very good food
    30 May 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    27 May 2017
    I didn't feel that the accommodation was that secure and the outer buildings immediately outside room need tidying up. Breakfast needs to be improved.
    Receptionists were very polite and helpful especially young gentleman wonderful character. Right on the beach close to sulphur springs and walking distance to town.
    26 March 2017
    Paradise on the beach
    Charming little place right on the beach, next to one of the best snorkeling reefs on the island. Amazing views of Petit Piton peak. Excellent restaurant.
    2 March 2017
    The night we arrived there was a loud party outside of the hotel on the beach. Apparently it happens the last Saturday of every month. Due to the proximity there was no chance of getting sleep until 4am the next morning. No discount was offered. No notice of the event was given before arrival. Shutters on windows designed to not close all the way so no way to block out the noise. WiFi was extremely slow and unreliable. Breakfast and dinner were extremely slow when more than a couple of groups in the restaurant.
    Staff were helpful.
    4 February 2017
    Lovely location but service leaves alot to be desired
    The service at breakfast in particular was very poor. We have to ask for things a few times before they arrived eg the fruit juice was supposed to be given straight away but it came at the very end of the meal despite chasing. The water for tea and the coffee were served using thermos flasks which resulted in luke warm and the coffee was stewed. Even at 11am there were glasses and beer bottle still by the pool from the night before and was only cleared away when was asked. When we booked the hotel we asked for a late checkout but were told we'd have to move rooms. It turned out that we were moved next door to a room that hadn't been used the night before so why weren't we put in there in the first place. Or given the new room to the people who were taking ours. Seems such a waste for the cleaning staff and unecessary hassle for the customer. Also there was music blaring from a local bar until about 1am. Although this was outside the hotels control it did have an impact on our stay.
    Lots of character as it's a small hotel and older than most. Good location by the beach at the side of the village. The welcome cocktail was a nice touch.
    4 February 2017
    Very romantick place ausome restaurant stunning birds gardens and view s
    pillow s can be softer
    We loved the outside garden s and birdlife complements to the gardener. Very good restaurant . Great location . Nice staff
    2 February 2017
    Beautiful views, take nothing valuable and expect a minimal breakfast
    Described as beach location but no parasols or sunbeds on the beach. No safe box in room, which bearing in mind the location, meant taking all your valuables with you. Therefor you had to take it in turns swimming on the beach or guarding your property. Local town felt unsafe at night and were regularly approached by people begging during the day. Free breakfast was minimal and did not include local breakfast without extra payment
    Beautiful views, Nice Room, Good Restaurant for meals purchased
    22 January 2017
    Perfect locarion but various irritations.
    Better management to ensure complaints swiftly followed up as we had no hot water throughout our stay of 5 nights. Also ran out of fruit and bacon one morning for breakfast. Used towels and full ash trays left by pool for days. Such a pity as would be perfect without several minor irritations.
    The location is perfect. Good for views and waliking into town. Very attractive landcaped garden. Dinners excellent. Staff pleasant.
    17 January 2017
    Cottage, comfort, standard, pillows, no wi-fi, slow service breakfast, pool not cleaned and maintained
    Staff in the reception View Restaurant and bar nice
    7 December 2016
    Hummingbird resort has all you need.
    Food in general was quite expensive but that was the same all over the island.
    This was a gorgeous cottage on the beach with a stunning view and very clean pool. Staff were superb. We would love to visit here again.
    21 October 2016
    Over priced underwhelming hidden charges
    Better curtains for guest privacy, cracked tiles repaired. electrical plugs made safer. More drinking water.
    The immediate staff were nice and friendly and did their best to cater for us.
    26 August 2016
    Great views, poor accomodation
    The swimming pool was green, you could not even see the bottom. The room was poor, holes in the mosquito net, in a zika high risk area. This was the only place on our travels we got bitten. Cockroach in the bathroom. No soap, no air conditioning. I expected much better for the amount we paid. Worth popping in for a cocktail one afternoon and appreciating the views, but I don't recommend staying.
    Great cocktail bar, lovely breakfast, amazing views
Loading reviews