Reviews

7.3
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
7.6
Comfort
7.2
Property location
8.2
Facilities
6.4
Staff
8.2
Value
6.3

Reviews

    Kendal
    lc

    Review score

    7.9
    7 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Carla
    gb

    Review score

    7.1
    8 May 2018
    The room didn’t have air conditioning and it was always full of mosquitoes. The room size is big but for the price, air conditioning was expected
    Staff is friendly and the restaurant quite nice. The pool and the views from the pool are great.
    Don
    gb

    Review score

    7.5
    28 February 2018

    Worth a short stay

    Cottage is located across the Anse Chastenet minor road and uphill of the main complex. Not a great beach.
    Breakfast overlooking the Pitons Seclusion and surroundings of the cottage
    White
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    3 February 2018

    Excellent hotel! Before you choose an air conditioned room, check out the upper balcony rooms!!

    I honestly couldn't find a single thing to complain about.
    This was the one and only place in the Soufreire area that we would ever stay in if we went there again. Big Tip: Do not opt for the air conditioned rooms on the ground floor. They are dark and a bit claustrophobic. We stayed there one night upon arrival and the next morning asked to see an alternate room upstairs. The staff was very accommodating, but advised me that the upstairs rooms were not air conditioned. I elected to see them anyway.. OMG!! The upstairs rooms are awesome! Forget air conditioning. They have high vaulted ceilings with ceiling fans over the beds plus a big oscillating floor fan and that's really all you need as it turned out. The view was beyond five star. I doubt that any of the big corporate hotels charging quadruple the price nearby even come close to having a view like these upper balcony rooms! Your own private covered balcony with table and chairs and hummingbirds busily flitting about the tops of the flowered bushes alongside your balcony railing twelve inches away.. a to die for view across the bay to the pitons beyond.. total privacy. There are three upstairs balcony rooms, we stayed in #2 which I felt was the best. Take my advice and even if you already have made your mind up that you absolutely must have an air conditioned room, ask to see these upper balcony rooms before you make your final decision. #1, #2 and #3 are all winners! Also the restaurant on the premises is definitely a cut above anything else nearby. Whoever was doing the cooking must have been trained in Paris?!? And all the staff were overly friendly and helpful. Nothing to complain about at all with the Hummingbird!
    Nicole
    ca

    Review score

    8.3
    17 January 2018

    Beautiful stay in this quiet garden hotel in Soufriere

    No wifi in the rooms so you had to go to the pool area or bar to use the internet.
    The view of the beach and the Petit Piton from the pool and from my balcony were absolutely beautiful. The gardens on the property and around the pool area were filled with hummingbirds and butterflies.
    geeta
    gb

    Review score

    7.5
    3 November 2017

    We had a nice stay with beach on doorstep even though one had to be careful as beach is steep

    Breakfast was tasty and well presented but skimpy and overcharged for the local menu as regular menu was not taken.breakfast was not value for money. Bathtub and surrounding area needed cleaning as this is important to me.
    Great location for the hiking waterfall and pitons. Lovely beach
    ca

    Review score

    5.0
    12 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Kim
    gb

    Review score

    7.1
    25 August 2017
    The tv in my room didn't work, the shower head was fixed and there was no water pressure to shower properly. The kettle in my room had a broken lid so I had to hold it down for it to boil. One of the bedside lamps had no socket to plug it in. The breakfast menu was a little confusing as I thought there was more included that what I recieved.
    The hotel was clean, well located, with beautiful views. We had a nice room, the bed was extremely comfortable and the flowers were a beautiful touch. The cocktails we had were beautiful as were the shimp dishes that we had for dinner. The chef's wife was a pleasure to converse with, she was very personable and made us feel extremely welcome.
    lc

    Review score

    6.7
    27 July 2017

    Review

    The layout of furniture didn't like the look of bath
    That's it was very close to the beach
    John
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    12 June 2017

    Fantastic holiday at the Hummingbird

    Spectacular view. All the staff were fantastic. Great location for swimming in the sea. Kids loved the swimming pool. Very good food
    Jeffery
    us

    Review score

    7.1
    17 August 2018

    For unique place right in Sourfriere, was good choice. Staff friendly except one waittress.

    Open air dining room had bug problem, lots of bites on ankles after a meal. Cottage was a little past its prime, but for our purposes it was good to have our own space.
    This property is in excellent location for day trips to tourist spots and walking distance to downtown Soufriere. Very unique property, hand built and one of a kind. We stayed in cottage because we had four people and it was comfortable with great view of Piton off the porch. Not a four star resort and beach is not very good, but location did it. Enjoyed it.
    Paul
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    24 June 2018

    Authentic and affordable tropical beach resort.

    The range of the WiFi was very limited. You literally had to sit in the bar near the office to connect.
    Excellent swimming and snorkeling (and diving) right at the beach. Easy walk into the the town of Soufriere. Warm and welcoming staff.
    Elaine
    us

    Review score

    8.3
    21 May 2018
    We were a little disconcerted to find the rooms were open air and the bed had mosquito netting. The bed was very comfortable. We wish the wifi was stronger and more reliable.
    The grounds were beautiful and the hummingbirds plentiful. Every staff member we encountered bent over backwards to be accommodating. We absolutely loved snorkeling from the beach and exploring Hummingbird wall. The sheer wall has so much to offer. It was fascinating.
    Shad
    us

    Review score

    6.7
    24 April 2018

    It was decent but the beach wasn't the best along with the mosquitoes

    The rooms were open aired which let in the mosquitoes. It was a nice place but the mosquitoes drove me nuts being in the room with you.
    The food here was by far the best of the island. Way better than our other resort we visited
    David
    us

    Review score

    8.3
    17 February 2018

    The stay was pleasant (except Sunday night) and the staff were friendly and attentive.

    All electrical outlets did not work. The room interior was a little on the dark side--one light not working. Nearby Captain Hook's Sunday night karaoke kept us awake until 1 am. Other nights quiet.
    The staff were very attentive and responded quickly to requests.
    Neil
    ca

    Review score

    6.7
    16 December 2017

    Nice location, very close to town and right on a beach

    Bed not so comfortable, the room did not have AC which is alright but unable to get very much air flow through the room. Ceiling fan noisy and ineffective. No water in the morning.
    Dinner was great and the staff were terrific
    james
    us

    Review score

    8.8
    1 November 2017
    weather
    staff were great
    Robert
    us

    Review score

    5.8
    23 September 2017

    Great location but the property is old and is in need of repairs.

    Property was very outdated and needs a lot of repairs.
    Location
    The Bozz
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    24 August 2017

    Over all our stay was wonderful.

    The included breakfast was great and the staff accommodating. The beach is nice and the view of the Piton is great.
    Sarah
    us

    Review score

    2.9
    17 July 2017

    Uncomfortable

    The bed was very uncomfortable, and we were even afraid to go to the beach! The locals were watching us to rob us. The shower had no hot water, and the mosquitoes were terrible.
    The pool had a great view.
Loading reviews